Commentary, Contemporary, Interfaith, Islam, Islamic, News, Philosophy, Quran, Ramadan, Religion

Fasting … the aftermath. 

Distanced yourself from food, drink, sex, bad thoughts for a month, then woke up one morning and all of those are suddenly allowed again. Not only that, it is a celebration, eat and drink in abundance, in good company and don’t forget the desert and other pleasures as well. 

How does one feel? It has become a cliche to say that fasting is so that we understand how less fortunate, or hungry people feel. This is just a made up reason. It is a fast-a-thon jargon. To me, that sounds secondary. The primary reason is to thame oneself, and come closer to God. Less food, more God?

This morning when I woke up, I did not feel like eating anything at all. Knowing full well that I could eat whatever I wanted within my reach. I sat and took time to soak in a few short moments. I felt good because I was supposed to take on the day to celebrate, and be festive. If I told people I felt good as today was the day after Ramadan, I would find acceptance. I logged on to Facebook and posted for everyone to see “Eid Mubarak!” and I took out the USPS forever stamps with Eid Greetings and a nice calligraphy, and took a picture to accompany my message. I secretly felt proud and thankful for living here. 

So what now? I can have more coffee or more honey. I could sip tea from a warm mug as I listen to the news, and soak in the morning sun. I could wait a little, and go for an open buffett brunch or check out sexually explicit content on the internet. This was allowed. I felt thankful for what I had been having. It is the day of the festival after all. But, I did not want to eat anymore. I was overwhelmed with the variety of options before me. The more I tasted, the more I wanted. It was getting out of my control. I could eat more or do more. Little voice inside me kept asking what more could I have? What more could I do? There was nothing to stop me.  

Right there and then, what fasting was for became as clear as the brisk morning sun. No more did I have to put aside my indulgences. No more did I have to protect myself from excess. I did not have to choose dignity over bad thoughts. I suddenly felt like I had lost a very close friend. Goodbye the Month of Power. Until next year, but who knows if I am to reach you again. Who knows if I am healthy enough to fast again. I glanced at the warm mug I was holding. I was no longer thankful for that. I was thankful I had just spent the whole month fasting, focused on how I ought to be: more human, less animal. This is how the representative of God is ought to be. Goodbye my good friend…until next time. 

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “Fasting … the aftermath. 

  1. You’re right, it’s not Islamic. It’s plain barbaric…but I guess it’s all in the interpretation. Why oh why do these ‘prophets’ have to make their message so damned ambiguous??

    The word ‘Islamist’ I think is used because it describes someone who is affiliated with Islam but avoids tarring all muslims with the same brush. Or maybe it’s because it rhymes with terrorist, who knows.

    Still, good to see a blog where someone is asking questions and can see that it’s not all black and white.

    Happy Eid to all of you too…whatever that is.

    http://godisirrelevant.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Thank you for reading. At least you can appreciate that Eid is something a good number of people celebrate. Even if you completely disagree with the motives, I think one has to accept that it is a social fact. Thank you for being open minded though, because even though you do not agree with its motives you can still say happy eid! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

